Questlove Froman, @questlove
6k Posts
1.7m Followers
7k Following
A Private Figure. Salsa Kang Of Chicago
6k Posts
1.7m Followers
7k Following
A Private Figure. Salsa Kang Of Chicago
We did it y’all! Oct 13th!!!!! #Repost @songsthatshook ・・・ It’s Official—“Hip Hop: The @SongsThatShook America” drops on @amc_tv 10.13. Watch a sneak of the first episode now. Link in bio.
7k 141
This Just In!!! To you Complexcon peeps: Tariq & I ate personally hosting a ComplexCon(Versation) this Sunday 7/21 at 12P titled - Hip Hop: The Power of Your Voice Offering a preview of our new seriesdoc, Hip Hop: The Songs That Shook America (think the music version of #30For30) follow @songsthatshook & @twoonefiveent also. Premiering this fall at @amc_tv IN oct! moderated by Speedy Morman, an editorial producer at Complex. Hope to see you all there at @complexcon In chi town!
837 12
Man. Back in my high school years #YoMTVRaps! was my YouTube/Twitter/MediaTakeOut/HipHopDX/Okayplayer/Pigeons&Planes/twodopeboyz/complex/Genius just name it—-weekends were planned around @Fab5Freddy & weekdays were planned around @edlover #theotherDrDre #TMoney & @therealTodd1 88-94 was magical in ways you can’t imagine. Just heard about the passing of Brother Todd this morning. So sad man. This was a crucial foundation that helped build my hip hop knowledge (especially in territories I didn’t know about) rest in power Brother Todd.
14k 327
Wow....this #FaceApp ain’t that bad. Imma be aight!
29k 834
& here it is: book number 1,2,3,fo,FiF!!” My first cookbook (drumroll please!) #MixtapePotluck I mixed together my passion for music & food by bringing together over 50 of my pals– a mix of chefs, entertainers, artists, thought leaders & musicians – for the ultimate potluck party. They brought the recipes. I brought the music by pairing each personality with what I think best reflects them. Together we vibe with good food and music and highlight the beautiful synergies between the two. Special s/o to @MarthaStewart for the foreword, you could say she knows a little something about potlucks 🙃🙃🙃 Photography by @marcus.xoxo. Cover by @baronvonfancy and @jeanette_birdy. Out on Oct. 15th via @abramsbooks. Pre-order your copy today where books are sold. Link in Bio. #QuestLovesFood Special guest contributors include: #AmyPoehler Maya Rudolph @princesstagramslam Lilly Singh @iisuperwomanii Padma Lakshmi @padmalakshmi Zooey Deschanel @zooeydeschanel Janina Gavankar @janina Natalie Portman @natalieportman Fred Armisen @sordociego Flynn McGarry @diningwithflynn Marisa Tomei @MarisaTomei Tom Sachs @tomsachs Carla Hall @carlaphall Shep Gordon @supermenschshep Ardenia Brown @chefbutta1 Jessica Seinfeld @jessseinfeld Ashley Graham @ashleygraham Tariq Trotter @blackthought Gabrielle Union @gabunion Melody Eshani @melodyehsani Yvonne Orji @yvonneorji Kether Donohue @ketherdonohue Thelma Golden @thelmagolden Chris Fischer #ChrisFischer Jarobi White @jarobiwhite Dominique Ansel @dominiqueansel Q Tip @qtiptheabstract Jimmy Fallon @jimmyfallon Kwame Onwuachi @chefkwameonwuachi & so so so much more. Really had fun organizing this one! Info in LANK!
3k 128
In honor of the 15th anniversary of our 7th album #TheTippingPoint (July 13th 2004), we (The Roots) are pleased to announce a special limited edition Orange vinyl reissue being released today! (Also a special announcement coming soon in the next few weeks stay tuned!)
10k 290
#TheListening, the 2002 debut by #LittleBrother is for hip hop what the self titled #NewYorkDolls 73 debut was for punk culture. What 1974’s #InspirationInformation by #ShuggieOtis was for abstract funk. What @GaryNuman’s 81 “Dance” album was for @Prince’s Minniapolis creative assault & perhaps the entire #Sylvers MGM/Pride catelogue was for bubblegum soul. It provided context and a vision for the future very quietly. When history is written, many a revisionist will bestow #CollegeDropout w accolades and props on introducing the world to a 3 dimensional flesh and blood view of modern black struggle. Something hip hop avoided its first 2 decades. Truth is North Carolina’s Little Brother was Ye’s blueprint long before he had a deal. Drake has gone on record to sing Little Brother’s praises in how instrumental their line blurring of singing and mcing was for him. This album pioneered SoundCloud producers & blog mcs. I laughed so hard when @9thwonder told me he used something called #FruityLoops & garage band to record this entire album. “Fruit What!!!??”—-I’m not laughing no more. Until the @westsidegunn movement (we can add @freddiegibbs @anderson._paak & @rocmarci too) LB was truly the last hip hop movement I cared about AS A FAN w/o dissecting & listening as a peer. Peep the documentary on @okayplayer tomorrow on the making of a revolution that you don’t even know about
1k 80
Yo!!!! I was 6 secs old before I was made aware that 😏 was a flirt emoji In my head that 😏 was a shameful/embarrassed/defeated expression. As in: “My bad i been dragging my feet all day imma be late for rehearsal y’all 😏” “Yo man y’all did y’all thing! that game was crazy!!! I’m proud of y’all journey! I know y’all tried 😏 next year will be the year!!!!!” Or “Can we workout day after tomorrow yo? I worked late and got caught up binging Doctor Who 😏” “I slipped and had a tastykake 😏” I just got roasted something awful for not knowing this!—-the gazillion times I’ve used this in the wrong context and NOT A SOUL CORRECTED ME. Now I’m thinking about all the secret group chats discussing my apparent flirt game I wasn’t instigating. Why did no one correct me?! (Then again....my band let an entire 24 hours go by w/o letting me know my shirt was on backwards AND inside out—-(I got home, looked in the mirror mad af they said nothing....😏)
17k 1k